North Carolina Lemon Law
In order to qualify for a refund or replacement vehicle under the North Carolina Lemon Law, you must meet the following criteria:
- Your vehicle was purchased or leased as new in North Carolina; and
- It has a defect or condition which substantially impairs the value of the vehicle to you; and
- The problem first occurred within 24 months or 24,000 miles after delivery of the vehicle to you; and
- The problem has not been repaired within a reasonable number of attempts.
As in other states, the North Carolina Lemon Law also has “presumptions” which can apply. This means it is presumed that a reasonable number of attempts have been undertaken to repair vehicle if either of the following apply:
- The same problem (also called a “nonconformity”) has been presented for repair four times but still continues to exist; or
- Your vehicle has been out of service because of repairs or awaiting repairs for a total of 20 or more business days during any 12-month period of the warranty.
Although it is easy to list these rules, there are many factors that can affect your specific situation. That is why you should talk to an experienced North Carolina Lemon Law attorney today. Fill out the form on our web site for a free case review by one of our experienced lawyers today or simply call us at (877) 846-1209 to speak to an attorney right now at no cost to you! We will review your vehicle’s repair history and provide a free consultation